to hide or to hide

Is that the question?

I think it might be.

But what is the answer?

Man, I have NO idea.

But this, I now realise, is how I’ve lived my life. Past and present. As in, for the longest time (until 01-01-08) i hid behind a bottle, but this last short while (ok, more than a year now) I hide in my head.

Coelho wrote, “For inspiration, I have to make love to life.”

I certainly don’t do that.

Coelho also wrote, “If you don’t act sincerely in your life you deceive yourself and you deceive others.”

And I think I am sincere. But then by writing I’m kind of deceiving? But also –hopefully– illuminating. Or allowing someone to see a step toward some kind of illuminating moment. No?

I quick searched for a Stephen King quote, but couldn’t find it, though I think it goes something like: “I’mย a father first, a husband second, a man of my place and time third, and a writer last.”

And I’m not that either.

So what gives me the right to write? Just cos I can. Cos some days I HAVE to. Cos it MAKES me feel alive and connected, however much I’m falsifying my reality. Or the one others may eventually read about.

Another King quote, and this one I found: “Fiction is the truth inside the lie.”

So that’s ok. Now I don’t feel so bad. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyhoo.

I’ve added a word count tracking gizmo on the right, courtesy of http://www.critiquecircle.com

I hope they don’t mind.

Of course, that doesn’t mean I’ve begun yet… can you not see the zeros? ๐Ÿ˜‰ But it does mean I’m getting closer.

 

Oh, and thanks again to all those liking and following. Tis MUCH appreciated. Of course, it does make me wonder if I turned off the comments, though… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

