oopsy

I’m just shy of 20,000 words into my novel and I think I’ve just discovered who the true main character for my book should be…

😉

I think I was half-aware of this before, because the scene I just wrote was one of the first I saw back in the long ago of this story’s gestation, so I knew it was important. But I think I wanted to make it more about the adult male, when it is just as much about the young female. So there might be some re-jigging required, a twist of focus here or there in the rewrite, and the up-ahead. But it’s nothing mah-HOO-sive. Just something I need to keep in mind.

I’m also not sure I should include the word count for a short story I wrote before that is about to be inserted into my novel, probably in three sections to break it up a little and keep the tension high. Ish. I mean, these are old-words, but they are still part of the whole. They still require an edit and shrinkage, so could still be argued relevant that way. Just feels like a BIT of a cheat adding old words to the new word count. We shall see.

I might even be taking a day off the writing tomorrow. I don’t like to do this as it does mess with the flow (man), but it’s going to be a busy day, and if I get much of any free time I should probably work on rewriting that to-be-inserted short. Again, we shall see.

Oh, and I know I stopped JUST shy of 20k today, but I wanted the joy of looking forward to that happening tomorrow. You know, for the antici…

pation. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

