do not fit

Well, that’s not nice…

Before I’ve written any of today’s words I’ve had to make a negative amendment to the ongoing word count… because just over 3000 of my previously written words DO NOT FIT.

For a few days now three short scenes have been bugging me a little, in that they send the story to a different place than it wants to be in those moments, as we see a secondary character doing things that we really don’t want to see until later. And, even then, we probably don’t want to see her doing THOSE things THAT way.

And so they are gone.

One of the scenes MIGHT be able to make a reappearance later when one of the two main characters meet her, but the other two are total bye-bye’s. And that’s disappointing, but to my eye it flows better without them, so I keep telling myself IT IS A GOOD THING.

That’s about it for today as I guess I should really start to focus on ADDING words… πŸ˜‰

6 Comments

    1. Hi. Thanks for stopping by AND commenting. πŸ™‚

      Yes, it’s frustrating and disappointing. But I guess I would rather discover this now while it’s “just” 3000 “wasted” words than during the full novel re-write where I would have to lose a much larger whole thread.

      Back in the summer of 2010 I began a novel where the final word count clocked in at over 250,000… and because I hadn’t planned anything or kept a keen eye on much of what I was doing, the first re-write exposed almost half of that didn’t fit the final copy. But by writing through and around those scenes and threads I had managed to find the ones I did want/need, so I tried to see it as a good thing. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  1. I edit myself as I go. When I sit down to write, I read through what I had written last session, and rearrange and fix lots of stuff then. But I still do 3 or 4 edits when the manuscript is completed.
    Do you edit as you go, or wait until you have completed a first draft?

    Like

    1. Yes. πŸ˜‰

      I can’t help but edit as I go, often jumping back up a page or two to correct something I realise isn’t right even while I’m in the middle of the same or next scene in that day’s new words. Plus, I tend to re-read the most recent part of my novel that relates to the characters I’m writing about that day. For example, I have 2 main and 1 half-main characters in my current novel, and pretty much alternate scenes between them, so will re-read/skim/part-correct the last scene involving them before beginning the new. That said, I’m not overly corrective there, though, because I’ve found it can cause my flow to falter, and if I’m feeling what I’m writing I can easily find 1000-2000 words an hour.

      And yes, I edit during the re-write. I never used to “believe in” re-writes, wanting the natural flow and energy of the first draft to be allowed to live and breathe, but having re-visited old novels years after completing and deserting them I came to realise that editing and re-writing was a MUST as they were AWFUL. πŸ˜‰ Albeit a must that isn’t nearly as rewarding (for me) as the initial draft.

      Like

Leave a Reply

