lost in another pocket

I was surprised to learn that a long-ago friend stopped by mother’s house today, looking for me.

She left a number, and I’ll no doubt contact her over the weekend.

But my surprise is justified, I think…

We haven’t met up since 98 (I think; it was definitely in the 96-99 years), when she was on holiday with her husband and two young daughters to a village close to where I was living at the time, and we met up for the afternoon/evening.

Before that, we’d probably had a drink and gone to a gig or three in the previous 5 years. But in the mid-80’s to early-90’s we’d been best of friends, thick as thieves, and happily lost in each other’s pockets.

I think it’s fair to say she… No, I won’t say it.

But it’s funny how these things are so big at the time, and yet seem to fade so easily.

Leave a Reply

