back in

In a sudden reversal of a recent, strongly-believed removal of words from my current novel, I now find myself on the verge of re-inserting them…

And, no, this isn’t (merely) to bump the word count, but more because another character just reminded me of something that I require from the mini-story-thread created within those three previously removed scenes.

They were supposed to be developing a major minor plot point, but because I keep VERY few notes on my developing story –preferring to let everything simply stew in my head, for good or bad– I had let this slip my mind.

It was only when this other character passes by a place where the other thread was due to affect his life that I recalled the old “plan”, and knew that without those three scenes the eureka moment he is due to undergo would feel VERY fake.

And so they are back, albeit with a tweak and a twist. ๐Ÿ™‚

Word count will be updated after said tweak and today’s new words are found.

3 Comments

  1. While writing a novel or novelette, I keep a growing notebook full of things I’ve jotted down, slips of paper I’ve scribbled on, usually a map I’ve drawn of my imaginary world, a timeline if multiple generations are involved, my characters physical characteristics–don’t want to forget the color of someone’s eyes–and god-knows what else. And like you, I tend to be “wordy”‘ and sometimes, I discard section of writing only to decide later on it needs to be included. I’m glad I put my “discards” in a file on my computer, and don’t outright delete them. Once the words are gone, they’re gone.
    Once long ago, when I was a newbie writer, I didn’t know to set up my computer to automatically back up my documents every few minutes. I would write for hours, then click save at the end of the day. Well, one day I had written about all day, then the electricity blinked off. It was only for a few seconds, but I lost all that day’s work, and though I remembered what I had written, I couldn’t recall just how I’d strung the words together. One could probably hear my scream of F$&@ for miles. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. I’m the same with the slips of paper. I carry a pencil and paper with me at all times, just so I should never lose that “wonderful” idea. And the few notes I have for this book have other slips attached and placed between them as part of an ever-expanding wodge.

      And I have a timeline for this novel, too, but only the four specific years where something occurred that is intrinsic to the plot – the rest happens now.

      But that’s a whole other issue – flashbacks. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

      I think this could be a fault in my writing, but I rarely have a DEFINITE idea of what a character looks like, ie eye & hair colour etc. What I tend to have is an actor or actress in mind in that role, and use their vague attributes when seeing my character. But it is rare that I stressed physical traits, unless they seem important to plot/story, like if a character is ginger and that leads to bullying, or like my current main character who is SOMEWHAT overweight (he calls himself FatBob). “They” do say write about what you know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      My files are all set up now to auto-save, and those old versions without this feature were a nightmare. Many times I lost some words, but not as many as you that day. Horrible. You know, I think I remember hearing that scream and wondering what it was. ๐Ÿ˜‰ My notebook freezes up sometimes, but with the auto-save there isn’t often much lost, but what is gone still remains gone, because like you say – although you can remember WHAT happened it’s not always easy to re-find the exact FEEL.

      Like

Leave a Reply

