how fickle the mind

I’m having one of THOSE days…

I have enjoyed writing my new novel to this point. And I know where I want it to move next, even if it subsequently changes our mind as the words flow. But that’s just it for today –

The words aren’t flowing.

And I don’t mean in a BLOCK kind of way. I mean in a me-just-not-feelin-it kind of way.

I can feel the next words tickling the tips of my fingers, I just can’t find the OOMPH to be bothered to sit down and try. Some days I really am my own worst friend.

It’s one of those days where I’m convinced I’m not saying anything interesting, that the characters have been seen before (albeit in three dimensions, compared to my one), that the story has been told a thousand times, that’s there simply nothing here to justify the time or effort.

Coupled with this is my brain knowing of my almost maniacal need to move on to the NEXT novel upon completion of the first draft, so it’s convinced I’m not even going to TRY and polish it.

And, stuck neck-deep in today’s funk, I can’t blame it.

So, for now, I’ll simply slump here listing to the EVERLY BROTHERS, hoping later or tomorrow is a lighter shade of silly.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

