great north road

Yeah, okay, I’ve been lazy where my own ongoing novel is concerned… but I wanted to finish reading Peter F Hamilton’s GREAT NORTH ROAD.

I think it had taken a distracted 10 days or so to read the first 500 pages, but the last 600 flew by over the last 50 hours or so.

No, I didn’t understand all of the techno-type side of things, but I grasped enough to be comfortable, and to not feel pulled away from the characters and story, both of which held me happy and well.

A lot happens, and there are a lot of characters, but at no point did I feel like it was a LONG read, despite almost 1100 pages.

I would recommend this to anyone interested in a complex novel, in a long novel you can really sink your mind into, in a detective-based novel, in a thriller and a science fiction novel, too. So many strands, and almost every word pleased me.

I’ve already ordered three more books by Hamilton, and may well even begin the first later today, as it arrived at my door around five hours ago, bless.

Leave a Reply

