Saturday Swims, part 1

As per my post yesterday, today I begin my quest to better market (or simply improve) my eBooks.

And, as the subject suggests, I am beginning with Saturday Swims, being about

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Swimming-Clouds-tales-failure-hope-ebook/dp/B00K1IJM7I/ref=la_B00JZ03YHC_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1403353268&sr=1-2

my first published short story collection. And yes, I know a writer should love his words, but I really do like these stories.

But what did I DO for them? Well…

  • I offered a free PDF copy of one of them for anyone who signs up to follow me
  • I updated and really improved the Amazon product description (see below)
  • I posted Facebook, Google+ and Twitter updates
  • I contacted some book-friendly sites via Twitter to tweet re this book
  • I submitted the book to AwesomeGang.com to list (very helpful site)
  • I submitted the book for review at a couple of sites

Now for another coffee and per chance a cookie… 🙂

 

Here’s the new/updated product description:

These are ten of my favourite stories, being tales of everyday people struggling through sadness and hope while hoping for connections within distance, all of them trying to find a liveable pathway through the minutiae of daily living.

In A SWIM IN THE CLOUDS, two once-close sisters reconnect through words and books, but mostly through action while confronting their dark past, and their hopes for a better future.

In GIRAFFE SPOTS, a lonely man who is missing his sister’s support learns how to blow bubbles and forgive while spending an afternoon in the park with three surprising new friends.

In UP AGAINST A WALL, an everyday family man stoically performs his job, but lives for his family, while feeling his life is unappreciated by all, especially his beloved, distant daughter.

In BOBBY LOU, a once-exiled and self-confessed flasher returns to his home town seeking redemption, reconciliation or understanding, and rekindles an important connection.

In HAZARD LIGHTS, two lonely co-workers struggle to be true while keeping their affair a secret, yet daren’t admit even the most rudimentary feelings towards each another.

In COLD, a relationship-questioning drunk discusses his problems with his partner’s cat in the garden while said partner sleeps, seeking answers or reason but finding only mistakes.

In HALFWAY HOME, a long-term family man struggles to find any kind of happiness in his distant wife or mocking daughters, and finds he feels happier living within his sleeping reality.

In EVERY MINUTE, a boy and his mother struggle to find any kind of sleep or peace, pining for the man of their house who is no longer with them, while wishing for a better future.

In HOW EASY WE BREAK, a barely-functioning, self-distancing alcoholic tries to keep hold of himself but slips, and slips again, influencing and harming those who would love him.

In LADDERS, a currently unemployed, middle-aged, repeating-father is unhappy at home, but finds an unexpected way to dream while resolving his past mental and physical issues.

( 155 pages / 41,000 words )

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

