CreateSpace & Kindle covers – an idea

A quick word about creating covers for Kindle and paperback via Amazon and CreateSpace.

Yes, both can be strugglesome and limiting. As I’m sure you’ve found.

But something I’ve found that is possible with covers at both is… you can design your own front (and back, with CreateSpace) cover elsewhere via another platform and then upload the whole thing as a single file. This will then cover ALL of the front (and back at CreateSpace) if you opt for the relevant template. Of course, the file needs to be BIG to avoid blurring, and the DPI for the image preferably mahoosive.

Another thing I found is that you can play around with the Author & Title text boxes. I liked one design for my collection Swimming In Clouds, but didn’t like where the Author & Title boxes were PLACED, so, I simply switched them around, and effectively had my author name as my book title and my book title as my name.

For example, in the image below:

swimming cover 0107

 

This was created using a Kindle template. However, DAVID BURTON is in the book title box, SWIMMING IN CLOUDS is in the subtitle box, and TEN TALES OF FAILURE AND HOPE is in the author name box. All I did was type over the text in each box as above, then clicked preview and saved that file. Of course, when I backed out the initial page now showed that TEN TALES OF FAILURE AND HOPE was the author of “DAVID BURTON – SWIMMING IN CLOUDS”. All you need do is retype the correct information in the correct boxes, so everything will now list as it should via Amazon. Of course, when you re-open the preview you’ll find everything is rejigged as I just said above, with DAVID BURTON now where SWIMMING IN CLOUDS is in my photo, etc. But all you need do is upload the image and make sure it covers the whole cover and then hit preview and ultimately save, leaving your details where you would prefer them on the cover, but still assigned correctly for Amazon purposes in the file information.

Below is another example, and one I am currently considering for my WONKY MONKY series. The image of the monkey and the noticeboard is an image at i-Stock that I am close to buying.

monkey sample

 

All I did with this was open it with Paint, then stretch it, and then simply create some text boxes and filled in the relevant information, leaving me with this:

wonky sample 0107

And then I uploaded it to a CreateSpace template, adding the blurb on the back, so we have this:

wonky BookCoverPreview

I simply need to convince myself that this looks good enough to justify the expense for the image. 😉

Any thoughts?

 

 

Leave a Reply

