zombie fiction update

Well. I REALLY enjoyed writing those 8500 words on Sunday/Monday. πŸ™‚

However, I now think it might be more than just the original 3000 word stand alone short story. I’ve had two lovely beta readers (who are BIG ZOMBIE FANS) report back that it is entertaining and they would like to read more, which I am taking as A VERY GOOD SIGN. πŸ™‚

So, now I’m thinking the words I have read more like the opening two chapters to a 70,000 word or so NOVEL. I know, right?!

Friday night I didn’t even KNOW about this idea, because it appeared while emailing with a friend on Saturday, as a joke, but see how quickly these things develop a life of their own. Heh. Given it’s about a zombie… πŸ˜‰

All of which means I won’t be offering it as a free giveaway teaser, but will see how things stand after the next 65,000 words or so, assuming it has legs. Sorry, I’m cracking myzombieself up here. The biggest problem is time, as at present I can only confidently offer to bleed for my tale during my ‘weekend’, being Sunday and a small part of Monday. But if that’s what it requires to reanimate the story then so be it.

It really does amaze me, though, and shouldn’t go unsaid…

  • Friday – had never even considered the idea/concept…
  • Saturday – had a clear lead zombie character, and the vampire ‘assistant’…
  • Sunday – discovered his wife and kid waiting for me..,
  • Monday – found four story arcs to pursue…
  • Since – ideas just KEEP on coming

This one may have legs. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

