it was 23 years ago today…

No, I’m not the first to mention it, nor will I be the last, but today is 23 years since Freddie Mercury passed away.

The reason I am blogging about it this year and not others? Quite simply because I only learned today that the Queen gig at Knebworth Park in Stevenage, England, on August 9th 1986 was the last ever time Freddie and the boys played live together in concert.

Not only that, but it was the FIRST EVER gig I went to. Got a little lucky there, huh? 🙂

Anyhoo. Below is a clip found on Youtube of what appears to be the whole concert, mostly from a fan-in-the-crowd viewpoint, so it’s almost like a memory for me. Heh.

And the setlist:

One Vision
Tie Your Mother Down
In the Lap of the Gods… Revisited
Seven Seas of Rhye
Tear It Up
A Kind of Magic
Under Pressure (Queen & David Bowie cover)
Another One Bites the Dust
Who Wants to Live Forever
I Want to Break Free
Impromptu Guitar Solo (w/parts of “Get Down,Make … more)
Now I’m Here
Love of My Life
Is This the World We Created…?
(You’re So Square) Baby I Don’t Care (Elvis Presley cover)
Hello Mary Lou (Ricky Nelson cover)
Tutti Frutti (Little Richard cover)
Bohemian Rhapsody
Hammer to Fall
Crazy Little Thing Called Love
Encore 1: Radio Ga Ga
Encore 2: We Will Rock You, Friends Will Be Friends, We Are the Champions, God Save the Queen

Leave a Reply

