TMST – a novel approach

Some of you may be aware of my behemoth of a novel, TELL ME SOMETHING TRUE.

tmst 900

At over 275,000 words, it is a little heavy on the hands, not to say the pocket, as CreateSpace & Amazon retail it at around Β£15/$19.

Now, despite it being a long tale, I believe it is an interesting one, and well worth the time and effort required. But, of course, I probably would say this, right? πŸ˜‰

So, I have come up with an idea…

I will remove the current full edition that is available on Kindle or as a Paperback, and re-publish the novel in four parts.

The book is already split into four cliff-hanger-y sections, based around the four seasons in a year (yes, Summer, Autumn, Winter & Spring), and it is my idea to re-publish one in each quarter of the coming yearΒ on the first day of each of those seasons (June 1st, September 1st, December 1st, March 1st), thus building into a 4-book series spread over a year.

While a 720 page book can feel a little scary to pick up, four 180 page books should feel quite tasty by comparison.

Also, it gives me a chance to re-edit as I go.

Oh, and I intend to make the first part available as a FREE eBook, throughout the year. And the subsequent three parts should all retail for less than Β£5 or $7. Well, that is the hope; and having had a quick run through the numbers, I believe this is doable.

Any thoughts/suggestions/comments? All appreciated. πŸ™‚

 

6 Comments

  1. Pingback: a novel approach |
  2. I’m not a big book reader. I’m more in the family of 200 pages! I think it’s a great idea to break the books up into 4 parts and be seasonal! If you buy the book, it’so easy to throw in your bag, read on the train or bus on your way to and from work.I think most people finish smaller books faster. A large book takes time and you may read 30 or 40 pages at a time and put the book down. Pick it up in a day or two, possible longer!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like an excellent idea to me, Dave. I think in the long run it would be more profitable. Though I love reading, a 720 page book does sound a little daunting. Do you remember when Stephen King put out The Green Mile in a series of short works, I think one per month? The first book was the hook. Yours could very well work out that way as well. And I love the one per season approach.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kathy. πŸ™‚

      I hear you and agree with you & Lois.

      This is now the PLAN. And so shall it be. πŸ˜‰

      And I do remember the Green Mile series. A girlfriend treated me to the first one, but by the time the final one was published we were no more. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

